Breaking News

Shaheed Zulfikar Ali Bhutto Institute of Science and Technology

Shaheed Zulfikar Ali Bhutto Institute of Science and Technology (commonly referred to as SZABIST) is a Pakistani university, with headquarters at Karachi and campuses at Islamabad, Karachi, Larkana and Dubai. The institute offers programs in Business Administration, Computer Science, Media Sciences, Social Sciences, Management Sciences, Law and Development Economics, Engineering (Mechatronics), Project Management.
SZABIST was established through an act of Sindh Assembly (Sindh Act No. XI of 1995) and is approved and recognized by the Higher Education Commission (HEC) as a degree granting institution. SZABIST has campuses in Karachi, Islamabad, Larkana and Dubai. It is a registered member of the International Association of Universities (IAU), Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), Federation of the Universities of the Islamic World (FUIW), Asia University Federation (AUF), The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB)and the Association of SAARC Universities (ASU).
SZABIST has five campuses (including one foreign campus) three diploma centers, three intermediate colleges and one research center. Over 5,000 degrees have been awarded by SZABIST


The school offers programs in management sciences, computer sciences, media sciences, law, economics and social sciences. Some of the programs offered are external programs offered in collaboration with universities in the UK. Following is a list of offered degrees:
  • Management Sciences: Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA), Master of Business Administration (MBA), Master of Science (MS) in Management Sciences and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Management Sciences.
  • Computer Sciences: Bachelor of Science (BS) in Computer Sciences, Master of Science (MS) in Computer Sciences, Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Computer Sciences.
  • BE Mechatronics Engineering: Bachelor of Engineering (BE) in Mechatronics Engineering
  • Social Sciences: Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Media Studies, Bachelor of Sciences (BS) in Social Sciences and Economics, Master of Science (MS) in Social Sciences & Economics and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Social Sciences & Economics.
  • External programs: Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto Institute of Science and Technology offers external programs in Law (LLB) and Economics and Development (BSc) in collaboration with the University of London.
  • Intermediate program: SZABIST offers Intermediate at SZABIST Intermediate Larkana in affiliation with Bise Larkana.

BS (Media Sciences)

SZABIST offers a four year (eight semesters) BS (Media Sciences) degree with majors in Production and Advertising. The BS Program is a day program and consists of 46 courses and a thesis (six courses per semester) with a total of 144 credit hours (all electives and certain courses may be offered in the evening), and an Internship. The maximum time limit to complete the BS degree is seven years. The ZAB Media Festival is an annual event organized by the Department of Media Sciences. The 5th ZMF celebrates the art of filmmaking and Pakistani cinema. Courses integrate the study of local and global media history, theory and research with production work in photography, journalism, graphic design, advertising, radio, film, video, audio, digital, online, and emerging communications technologies.
SZABIST annual Media Festival (ZMF) is produced each year by students in the sixth semester class and faculty in the Department of Media Sciences.


SZABIST graduates are members of the SZABIST Alumni Association. The SZABIST Alumni Association assists them through counseling and career development.


SZABIST has been ranked at No. 3 in Business/IT category by the Higher Education Commission (HEC).[1]

International agreements

SZABIST has signed articulation agreements with the University of Wales Newport, UK and the University of Northampton, UK. SZABIST has signed MoUs with the State University of New York, USA; University of London, UK; Philippines Women University, Philippines; and the Asian Academy of Film & Television, India..
Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.