Breaking News


Nishan-e-Haider is the highest military award ...
Nishan-e-Haider is the highest military award given by Pakistan
Nishan-e-Haider or Nishan-e-Hyder (Urdu: ئشان حیدر‎, translated as "Emblem of Haider, where Haider is the epithet of Hazrat Ali and means Lion", abbreviated as NH) is the highest military decoration given by Pakistan (it is the equivalent to the Victoria Cross and the Medal of Honor under the British Honours System and the United States Honors System respectively). It was established in 1957 after Pakistan became a Republic, however, it was instituted retroactively from Independence in 1947. It is awarded to military personnel, regardless of rank, for extraordinary bravery in combat.[3] The award is considered to be the highest military award and has only been awarded to those who have sacrificed their life for the country. Its exclusivity may be gauged by the fact that since it was established only 11 awards have been made, along with one equivalent award. To date all awards have been made posthumously. However, death of the individual during the act of extreme courage is not mandatory for qualification for Nishan-e-Haider. Of the 11 recipients, 10 have been from the Pakistan Army, one has been from the Pakistan Air Force and no one from Pakistan Navy.

The Decoration

  • Category: Operational (Awarded to deceased members of the Pakistani Military Forces whose death occurred during times of conflict)
  • Definition: It is the highest Military award and holds seniority among civil and military awards. It is open to all ranks for acts of heroism/conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme danger or devotion to the country in the presence of the enemy on land, at sea or in the air.


  • Manufacture: Made from surrendered enemy weapon. Nishan e Haider is prepared in Pakistan Mint. It consists of 88 percent copper, two percent zinc and 10 percent tin. Nishan e Haider is made only when ordered by defence ministry Pakistan Mint produces 34 various awards including Nishan e Haider.


To date, no living person has received the award.
  1. Captain Muhammad Sarwar Shaheed (1910–July 27, 1948), 2/1st Punjab
  2. Major Muhammad Tufail Shaheed (1914–August 7, 1958), East Pakistan Rifles
  3. Major Raja Aziz Bhatti Shaheed (1928–September 10, 1965), 17 Punjab
  4. Major Muhammad Akram Shaheed (1938–1971), 4 FF
  5. Pilot Officer Rashid Minhas Shaheed (1951–August 20, 1971), PAF Training Squadron
  6. Major Shabbir Sharif Shaheed (1943–December 6, 1971), 6 FF
  7. Sawar Muhammad Hussain Shaheed (1949–December 10, 1971), 20 Lancers
  8. Lance Naik Muhammad Mahfuz Shaheed (1944–December 17, 1971), 15 Punjab
  9. Captain Karnal Sher Khan Shaheed (1970–July 5, 1999), 12 NLI
  10. Havildar Lalak Jan Shaheed (1967–July 7, 1999), 12 NLI
Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.